Report on Day of Immunology 2022 ACTREC-MIG

Day of Immunology 2022 ACTREC-MIG was conducted at ACTREC as webinar to celebrate International Immunology Day on 5th May, 2022. Event was inaugurated by Dr Sudeep Gupta, Director, ACTREC at 4.15pm. Organizer Dr Jyoti Kode spoke about Day of Immunology being celebrated across world on this day. She described activities of Mumbai Immunology Group (MIG) being conducted for college students and teachers for awareness of immunology topic amongst all.

We had 120 registered participants for this webinar. At the start Drama skit was performed by Dr Albeena Nisar and Team from CAR-T and Cell Therapy Centre at ACTREC. They demonstrated through stage act how Dendritic cell vaccines work to kill cancer cells with immune cells involved and cytokines and cell-cell interactions. This was followed by felicitation of Creative Mind Contest winners from ACTREC and ACTREC alumni by Dr Sudeep Gupta, Director ACTREC, Organizer Dr Jyoti Kode, MIG/ ACTREC Alumni Association (AAA) EC Members Dr Kishore Amin, Dr Ashok Varma, Dr Jyoti Kode and Dr Meera Achrekar.

First seminar talk of event by Dr Eddy Sayeed on "Vaccines: Past, Present and Future" covered basics of vaccines and advances in vaccines against bacteria/ viruses and COVID-19. He also covered manufacturing and regulatory issues and stopgaps in Vaccines development. Second talk by Dr Hemant Dhamne covered Cell-therapy related manufacturing and regulatory issues. Both talks were followed by answers by speakers to questions from chat and floor.

Event supporters included Mumbai Immunology Group, Indian Immunology Society and ACTREC Alumni Association.

As a part of campaign towards spreading Immunology Day celebrations, we had conducted CREATIVE MIND CONTEST for ACTREC staff and students and for ACTREC Alumni members –in category of poetry, slogans, photos, sketches, paintings, videos/short films and rangoli. We had received 52 entries from ACTREC and alumni members. 38 participants were awarded with certificates and cash prizes for selected entries.

Contest entries were judged by review committee members Mr. Shyam Chavan, Ms. Shamal Vetale, Dr. Meera Achrekar and Dr. Meenal Poojary.

Mrs Ojaswini Upasani, Mrs Bhagyashree, Ms Vaibhavi K., Ms. Sumiran Singh, Ms Priyanka Patil, Ms Pallavi and Ms Arti Patil helped enthusiastically in financial, administrative matters and conducting event smoothly.

Meeting ended with Vote of thanks delivered by Dr Jyoti Kode at 6.35pm.