Histone Lysine Demethylase

Histone methylation marks are removed by class of demethylase enzymes. There are seven proteins in this category.

Download table as Excel
Different Histone Lysine Demethylase
Enzyme (UniprotKB recommended name) Coding gene/s Site of histone modification
Lysine (K)-specific Demethylase 2AKDM2AH3K36me2
Lysine (K)-specific Demethylase 2BKDM2BH3K36me2
Lysine (K)-specific Demethylase 4AKDM4AH3K36me3, H3K9me3
Lysine (K)-specific Demethylase 4BKDM4BH3K9me3
Lysine (K)-specific Demethylase 4CKDM4CH3K9me3
Lysine (K)-specific Demethylase 4DKDM4D H3K9me3
Lysine (K)-specific Demethylase 8KDM8H3K36me2
Lysine-specific Demethylase 3AKDM3AH3K9me1, H3K9me2
Lysine-specific Demethylase 5AKDM5AH3Kme2, H3K4me3
Lysine-specific Demethylase 5BKDM5BH3K4me, H3K4me2, H3K4me3
Lysine-specific Demethylase 5CKDM5CH3Kme2, H3K4me3
Lysine-specific Demethylase 6BKDM6BH3K27me2, H3K27me3
Lysine-specific Demethylase PHF2PHF2H3K9me2
Lysine-specific Histone Demethylase 1AKDM1AH3K4me, H3K4me2, H3K9me1
PHD Finger Protein 8PHF8 H4K20me1
Ribosomal Oxygenase 1 RIOX1H3K36me3